Students are required to pay fees at the time of enrollment in classes. Any debt will result in denial of further enrollment privileges and withholding of services, such as transcript requests and enrollment verifications.
Enrollment fees are subject to change as directed by the California Legislature. All other fees are subject to change as directed either by the California Legislature or by the MiraCosta College Board of Trustees in accordance with Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations.
Detailed information about fees, financial aid, and scholarships can be found in each semester's class schedule, in the Financial Aid Office (located in Building 3000 of the Oceanside Campus), and at www.miracosta.edu/studentservices.
MiraCosta College is required by state law to charge each student a per-unit enrollment fee for credit classes.
- California residents currently pay $46 per credit unit.
- International students and non-California residents currently pay an additional $200 per credit unit for a total enrollment fee of $246 per unit. (Please see Admissions Information for residency requirements.)
High school students who are concurrently enrolled part-time are not required to pay the enrollment fee.
Instructional Materials Fee
Some courses require a materials fee as a condition of enrollment in a class. When required, this fee is noted in the course description. The fee is used to purchase materials such as tools, equipment, and clothing that not only are necessary for achieving the respective course's objectives but also have a continuing value to the student outside of the classroom setting.
Most credit courses require students to provide their own textbooks, lab manuals, and workbooks, which can cost upwards of $150 per class. Course materials such as these can be purchased new or used from the college bookstore, and students are encouraged to participate in the bookstore's textbook rental, used book, and book buy-back programs. Students who need assistance paying for books should contact the Financial Aid Office to determine their eligibility for financial aid, book grants, or book loans.
Books for classes taught at the Oceanside Campus and all online courses must be purchased or rented at the Oceanside Spartan Bookstore or the Oceanside website; books for classes taught at the San Elijo Campus must be purchased or rented at the San Elijo bookstore or the San Elijo website; books for classes taught at the Community Learning Center (CLC) must be purchased or rented at the CLC bookstore.
Health Services Fee
All students enrolled in credit courses and taking any number of units at the Oceanside Campus, San Elijo Campus, or Community Learning Center are required to pay a state-mandated health services fee. This fee is currently $19 per semester. The fee covers the cost of secondary student accident insurance and helps fund the operational expenses of the Health Services Center.
Students enrolled in credit courses conducted at other locations must also pay the health services fee. However, companies or school districts that arrange for MiraCosta to conduct classes at off-site locations may request a waiver of the health services fee by providing proof of accident insurance. Arrangements for a fee waiver need to be made with the Office of Instruction when off-site class negotiations are conducted.
The following students are not required to pay the health services fee:
- Students studying abroad
- Students participating in an approved apprenticeship training program
- Students enrolled in noncredit courses. (They may choose to pay the fee if they want to use and benefit from the health and medical services that the Health Services Office provides.)
- Students who depend exclusively upon prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization. (These students must present documentary evidence of their affiliation with a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization.)
All student vehicles parked on campus must be registered with the Parking/Campus Police Office, and vehicles not displaying a parking permit will be ticketed. A parking fee is charged for registration of each vehicle each semester with some exceptions, which are listed in the class schedule, and the fee varies with the type of vehicle:
- Four-wheel vehicle (hang tag or sticker): $35 per semester
- Motorcycle, motor-driven two-wheel vehicle (sticker): $17.50 per semester
Daily parking permit machines are located on all three campuses. San Elijo and Oceanside campus permits may be purchased for $1 and the Community Learning Center campus permits may be purchased for $ .50 All visitors must purchase a permit to park on campus Monday through Saturday.
The Parking/Campus Police Office is located in Parking Lot 1A on the Oceanside Campus and on the east side of the entrance to the San Elijo Campus. Upon request, the office will provide a copy of all the rules and regulations that pertain to parking on campus. Students who violate the college's parking rules and regulations are subject to citations and fines.
Student Center Fee
A Student Center fee of $1 per credit unit with a maximum of $10 per academic year (summer through spring) is charged to students enrolled in on-campus credit classes at the San Elijo or Oceanside Campus. This fee is waived for students who provide the Financial Aid Office with documentation of their participation in AFDC/TANF, SSI, or General Relief.
Student Identification Card Fee (optional)
The student identification (ID) card supports a variety of college services, such as using computer and language labs and writing checks in the college bookstore. The student ID card also serves as the college library card, expediting access to the library circulating collection and academic reserve collections. Students without a valid MiraCosta student ID card must provide proof of current semester registration along with a government-issued photo ID and proof of current address to access these library services.
Another advantage of having a student ID card is the cardholder discount students receive at various North County businesses, such as at participating copy centers, theatres, restaurants, clubs, museums, and sports events. In addition, ID card fees help fund a number of student activities and campus events as well as the publication of the Chariot student newspaper.
To obtain a card, students need to pay the $6 fee at enrollment and bring their receipt of purchase and a picture ID to the Student Activities Office at either campus.
Two transcripts are provided to each student without cost. Additional copies cost $5 each. An additional $2 processing fee is charged for transcripts ordered online.
California Veteran Dependent Exemption
The basic benefit is the waiver of tuition and required incidental fees at a California community college, California State University, or University of California. Dependents who may be eligible for this benefit include the following:
- A child or surviving spouse of a veteran who died in the line of duty or as a result of a service-connected disability
- A child or spouse of a totally disabled, service-connected veteran
- A child of a veteran who has applied for a service-connected disability, has received a rating of zero or more percent, and falls within the income guidelines.
Contact the MiraCosta College Veterans Education Office (760.757.2121 x6285), the California Association of County Veterans Service Officers, or the California Department of Veterans Affairs (916.503.8397) for information about how to apply for this college fee waiver.
Penalty for Dishonored Checks
A $10 penalty is levied for every check dishonored by the bank and returned to the college. This penalty is in addition to any and all other fees, fines, and charges.
A $10 processing fee is charged for a clearance of a HOLD that has been put on a student's record.
Delinquent Debt Collection Charge
Each student is responsible for paying all fees for a term or session. If the California Legislature changes the fees, the student is responsible for any fee increase for classes that remain on or are added to the student schedule. When fees are not paid, the fees owed are past due and subject to the collections process. If a delinquent debt is sent to collections, a reasonable collection cost of up to 25 percent may be added to the balance owed. Delinquent accounts may also be reported to one or more of the national credit bureaus.
Student Eligibility for Refund
Refunds of enrollment, non-resident, Student Center, health services, and materials fees are given to the following students:
- Those whose classes have been canceled by the district
- Those who have officially dropped from classes (they have dropped online using SURF or turned in a Drop Card to the Admissions and Records Office) during the first two weeks of a full-semester class (or by 10 percent of a short-term class)
- Those who are members of an active or reserve military service who receive orders compelling a withdrawal from courses at any time during the semester.
Processing of Refunds
Refunds are automatically mailed or credited to the student's credit card throughout the semester. Students who have not received their refund by the sixth week of classes should call the Student Accounts Office at 760.795.6835.
Students who receive federal financial aid funds and totally withdraw before the 60 percent date of the term require a refund and repayment calculation to determine funds owed back to the various federal aid programs by both the college and the student. Unofficial withdrawals (grades of all Fs and/or Ws) also require a refund and repayment calculation. Refunds of federal aid programs are made according to a formula established by the U.S. Department of Education. Additional information is available in the Financial Aid Office.